Practice, But No Games?

The first JOAD session wrapped up.  She got a pin and was thrilled.   I wondered if I understood even less about this sport.  We went to practice every week, but where were the games?  I asked the shop guy and he said to ask the coach who was always busy working with the kids or moving to the next class.  I couldn’t catch him.  So, we signed up for the next session.  She has certainly learned some form during JOAD and a lot of safety rules, I just wonder if she is shooting enough. Years ago at the Olympic training center, we watched the men’s team scrimmage for hours.  They barely ran a drill.  When I asked the head coach about drills, he said, “The game teaches the game.”  It changed what I thought about coaching volleyball.  I guess I would want to see her shoot more.

Leave a Reply

